Peggy Polias is a composer, music engraver, curator and arts professional residing and working on Darug and Eora lands in Sydney. She is in the final stages of a Doctor of Musical Arts in Composition at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. Her creative research under the supervision of Prof Liza Lim has focused on themes of safety, secrecy, and journaling in sound and in the creative process. Polias was part of the Conservatorium’s Composing Women program in 2018-19.

Polias has had works performed and/or recorded by artists including Claire Chase (USA), Bernadette Harvey, The Nano Symphony, Lamorna Nightingale, The Riot Ensemble (UK), Sydney Chamber Opera, and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows. Her digital albums Picnic at Hanging Rock Suite and Hive were released by Kammerklang in 2015-16. Recent works include Receptor (2020) for solo marimba, composed especially for Claire Edwardes and a forthcoming orchestral work, Arachne, for the Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s 50 Fanfares project. Polias is an Associate Represented Artist with the Australian Music Centre and takes a keen interest in the possibilities for music in the online space.